Diary 170626

Look to the left:

 

I spent the morning tracking down internet problems and cleaning out the back half of pickup so as to add another battery and double my solar capacity. It does fairly well without help, the little engine that could, but this should give me at least two cups of coffee on top of running the computer and it fits neatly in the back.   It might do that and stay full, if the sun is shining. And also carried my electric weedeater around town from store to store trying to figure out how to get string for it (without winding my own, which I discovered is the standard method). I figure I’ll get cartridges until the crash and after that there won’t be weedeaters.

 

Winter Palace is full of junk; junk trailer half unloaded; cabin also full of junk has been partially re-inhabited by the packrats and a mouse or two. Bitsy says the garter snakes are back, but we haven’t seen any rattlesnakes. Don’t like killing rattlesnakes. The GOOD news is that the cabin contamination is down enough that I can sleep inside, instead of in the travel trailer, which is much more convenient and comfortable. A light; walls between me and our bear.

 

Look to the right:

 

My stretch of the creek has water in it. The only part of the creek that does below the first gate. I think because Mark spent his whole first year on some of the same land making little holding dams, and also because we aren’t pulling it out with a well. So the elk are coming through fairly often and one is little. I need to get the game camera up again. The rainwater holding tank is full, and Richard put up the gutters while we were gone so it stays full and out from under the house – the water.

 

And I spent the afternoon on the telephone. In Chama. People actually answered and were competent to do something, so two workmen will be out to the cabin on Thursday, one to fix my landline, which I really should have out there and it hasn’t worked for a couple of years, and the other to fix the internet dish, which pulls 30 W of electric and costs a lot more than that. If both of those are successful I will proceed to try to fix the resident solar. This country life is a lot of work. I can’t keep up with the mowing without electric to charge up the battery, and the baby trees are always thirsty. I expect to not get the Spring chores done before first snowfall.

 

Look ahead:

Then we will vacuum up the ^&*() rat turds and then carry on where we got snowed out last year using the steam cleaner on about a foot square at a time, concentrating on cleaning and blocking off the rat trails as we go. The book says to make sure there are no openings bigger than about a quarter inch. Where did that supposed expert grow up I wonder?

 

A – N – D —– !!   I finished the final draft of part one of book 25. Chapter Eight.

 

Chapters One through Eight.

 

LL

Leave a Reply

