Diary – 170621

Whooooosh. Three days aboveground in a heat wave is not where it’s at, but now the sun is setting and tomorrow we will be back in the canyon again. I want to stop on the way and hear the story of the Bear Dance, then finish my income tax, which I know I have enough to pay, but not in a checking account, which is a complication that did not occur to me until today. Maybe the bank will stay open on Sat morning, when I must (uuugggggh) make something to bring to a potluck. Usually I make cookies, which is fun, but doesn’t seem quite appropriate for this.

Ahhhh! The electricity just came back on. Good, maybe I can post this.

 

Anyway, I don’t have to come back up on Monday. My dentist just quit her job one day before my appointment that is already two months overdue because of my eye operation in Bryan that I needed to have in order to get a TX driver license because I spent the whole first part of the year trying to figure out how to get a NM license that would not restrict me to driving only within 40 miles from home, which would probably be OK, but it assumes that one actually HAS a home. Imagine what this does for homeless folk. They seem to have fallen out of the news lately. Another reality that Big Brother doesn’t want us to think about.

 

And, yes, it would no doubt reduce my chances of having an auto accident that is caused by the army of truck drivers and students out there on the roads and highways driving 85 mph. Not because of how I drive, but they have no interest in how I drive. Only how old I am, which they know and you don’t because the gov’t now requires us to release all significant kinds of information that we fought so hard in my youth to protect us from discrimination – not US, of course. We could never imagine discrimination against US. We were working for other people out there who evidently don’t care. Or more likely can’t afford to lose their jobs. If any.

Did you know there are now 18 American States trying to push through legislation to make peaceful protest illegal? Apparently the protests are good for something — or nobody would bother to do this, though the irritating thing about demonstrations to me is that they do not actually save anything – like the rule of law for example, which is necessary in order to get the things we are demonstrating about.

Y’all will have to think about USING the rule of law to protect the rule of law if that’s what you want. I’m too old for it, and if they really want me to stay within 40 miles of home they will probably find a way. If they can figure out where is my home and if they do, I expect they will let me know.

 

https://FactFictionFancy.Wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

