Bare Bones Biology 285 – Movin On

“I have learned that if you must leave a place that you have lived in and loved and where all your yesteryears are buried deep; leave it any way except a slow way; leave it the fastest way you can.” Beryl Markham, West with the Night.

I disagree, I believe that humans who love their past have a responsibility to that pastand to the future. The responsibility to take the world view that is buried deep in thewisdom of the place that we loved; to take that wisdom, wherever we go, and use it wisely. Otherwise, we start over from zero every new place, without regard to the wisdom of the old and the people who have helped us through the changes.

151127-WP&Bayer-asc_0255RLSsAnd I try to follow my own advice (Bare Bones Biology 276, 281), which is why my house is now filled with piles of old stuff in every corner waiting to be winnowed down to what can contribute to that future, and is also why I finally stopped the moving and turned my mind back to book 25 that is indeed my responsibility to our future.

To remember clearly what is already written, I had to read through the first three chapters, and there I found a (lyrical???) description of myself and my brother sitting on the floor in front of one of the world’s oldest household radios. I was about 8 years old, eating some kind healthy snack, I think it was perhaps rye krisp, in the sunny bay area of ca, listening to the Lone Ranger and Tonto on the radio, we could see it in our minds. White hats, horses and justice for all.

Today, more than half a century later, Bitsy and I were up and moving from dawn (7:30) to dusk (5:30), to accomplish one last weekly trip down the mountain to Los Alamos.  Today we cut our ties with the medical community in Texas by establishing new ones in Los Alamos. We passed all the tests, found a health food store we like, and stocked up on fresh food, peanut butter, cheese, jam, eggs and some canned goods. Eventually we will fill the freezer so we don’t run out between trips.

We already have a place to live and we have a really good mechanic in Santa Fe to keep the silver pickup healthy. We are set. We are exhausted; we are sitting in the overstuffed chair enveloped in a fuzzy blanket watching the computer monitor because we have neither radio nor TV.

On the way back, we stopped at Española, where there is a suitable drug store, a Lowes and a Walmart, and while there we celebrated by buying the entire first season of Longmire on DVD, because I have been curious about Longmire ever since I spent much of the first season camped in a trailer park (sans TV or radio) alongside one of the crew while looking for a place to move to. That was three summers ago.

Today, when we headed back up the mountain, we topped out that last high pass, and caught our first glimpse of our own snow-capped peak, 30 or 40 miles distant — for the first time I caught that warm/fuzzy feeling that just maybe we are indeed headed for home.

I have regretfully left behind the failed efforts of the years in Texas, and have hopefully carried forward the wisdom gained. I have a job to do; the schedule for the year is confirmed, or should I say committed; I will have to deal with some things I would rather ignore, but if I can accomplish them within this year I can hope they might sprout wings and carry on without my sacrifices – or are they perhaps blessings?

151205-ChristmasFest-ASC_0520RSsIt’s all about how change actually occurs in nature. It’s not all about humans. Even the human part is not all about humans; it’s about how humans are able to effectively interact with the environment as it is. We do not get to choose how the environment is. Why? Because our environment consists of a complex of emergent realities. And this is the message of my coming year, tentatively entitled “How to make wise decisions within an environment that is composed of interacting systems”. Or — Book 25.

Now, sitting in the overstuffed chair in front of the computer monitor, eating a healthy snack of, maybe it’s Rye Krisp, with peanut butter and Irish butter and jam AND cheese — watching Longmire – I get it. Finally I get it.

It’s the Lone Ranger and Tonto without the horses or the white hats, but with sex.

Hi OH Silver Pickup — Away.

This is Bare Bones Biology, a production of FactFictionFancy.Wordpress.com. A copy of the podcast can be downloaded at:  http://traffic.libsyn.com/fff/Bare_Bones_Biology_285_-_Moving_On.mp3

Leave a Reply

