This News from Friends of Peace in Waco

You might be interested in participating in their agenda — or watch their upcoming monthly movie.

Friends of Peace – http://friendsofpeacewaco.blogspot.com/

“THE PEOPLE’S RESPONSE to THE GEORGE W. BUSH LIBRARY AND POLICY INSTITUTE opening will happen April 11-14, 2013. The FOP plan to take a van to Dallas for this massive protest action. Please mark your calendars and join us for this commission on peace, justice, and reconciliation.

“PERSONAL NOTE.
“Shortly before Christmas an Op-Ed I had written on global warming was published in the Waco Tribune-Herald. I was of course very pleased it was printed. But the newspaper actually added words to the editorial that I did not write. I mentioned that global climate change is one of those issues which will have massive impact on our “children and grandchildren.” The paper added that this impact was like “runaway spending.” I NEVER wrote those words. “Runaway spending” is right wing code for any money spent to help the poor and disadvantaged. Of course I believe we do too little to help the needy of our society, certainly not too much. I wanted all FOP members to understand that words were added to the column which were the Trib’s words, not mine.” (I’ve had editors take OUT some of my words, but I never had anyone ADD their own words to my editorial. Amazing things happen when you live in Texas.)

“We don’t have to engage in grand, heroic actions to participate in the process of change. Small acts, when multiplied by millions of people, can transform the world.”–Howard Zinn

Leave a Reply

