Bare Bones Biology 131 – Community V

The thing I like about meditation is that it gives me insights.  Usually the insights relate to something I’m trying to understand in the day to day, but something new sometimes pops out that gives a little boost to what I refer to as my “personal power.”  I love to figure out why things don’t work, because that knowledge is the most direct path to figuring out what does work.  So, when I find something that doesn’t fit, I try to figure out WHY it doesn’t fit, before I proceed down that old path of life, especially if I’m at a fork in the path. That just seems like good common precautionary sense to me.

What I am trying now to understand is community. During this last week of writing and thinking about the relationships between human communities and biological communities, I learned so much that I wanted to share with a real community. I tried. But first the insight story.

I woke up feeling down. But I learned a technique from mindfulness meditation. So this time, instead of running screaming from the stage, or throwing myself into some communal activity that everyone else thinks is fun, I sat down for a few minutes and asked myself: “Self, what’s going on here? Unless it’s physical, like maybe diesel fumes in the air, you have no reason to feel like this. What’s your problem?” And my self said to me: “What’s YOUR problem. We are spitting nails angry and all you can think to do about it is pretend that we are depressed. That’s one way to deal – we won’t get in trouble with anyone else being depressed — but – how dumb is that? We aren’t going to find our community by being depressed because of a couple of kiss-offs.”

We humans have devised kiss-off behaviors to avoid hurting feelings. That’s not a bad thing, but if you are claiming to grow compassionate community you should try to not be unkind and dishonest. Dishonesty and distrust do not grow community, nor do they avoid hurt feelings.

What I suggest instead, if anyone out there really wants community, is honest discussion. Honest discussion does not include effusive well-wishing — when you don’t. And it doesn’t include: “I don’t understand.” When you don’t want to hear about it. Neither does it include the two biggest community killers I know: 1) The deeply imprinted American need to be better than others in order to feel good about ourselves; and 2) the equally American cultural dogma: “Everyone has a right to his own opinion.” Everyone does not have a right to his own opinion if it is harmful. And if you really do NOT want to grow community – don’t say that you do. It only adds to the confusion, and community building is difficult enough without added confusion.

Honest discussion of important issues is a responsibility of community, and the discussion must consider the cause and effect (karma) relationships among all the levels of life that impact our common welfare. That must include: individual welfare, community welfare, and the welfare of the whole of unitary Life, for its own sake. For our sake.

This blog is an expanded version of Bare Bones Biology radio program that is playing
this week on KEOS Radio, 98.1 FM, Bryan, Texas. The podcast can be downloaded at http://traffic.libsyn.com/fff/Bare_Bones_Biology_131_-_Community.mp3

Lynn Lamoreux

Recommended References:

Bare Bones Biology Ecology Energy Handbook.
Go to the right side of the page under Chapters and download your free no strings PDF.

Bare Bones Biology 127 – Community         https://factfictionfancy.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/
Bare Bones Biology 128 – Community II     https://factfictionfancy.wordpress.com/2012/10/14/
Bare Bones Biology 129 – Community III    https://factfictionfancy.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/
Bare Bones Biology 130 – Community IV    https://factfictionfancy.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/

Leave a Reply

