Dog Park Diary 120526

Yesterday I was too late for the noontime meditation at Upaya, so I sat in the sunny, breezy courtyard and more or less meditated until everyone came out about 1:00, when I discovered I was too early for the meditation lesson which was at three. So I got a great tour of the place, including a fine library, some home made cookies and the trail out back, where Bitsy and I explored with our plastic bag and picked up after several previous dogs. We are DEFINITELY going back there, and with camera. Maybe Monday we (I) will do the morning meditation and follow up with a little hike. My body without chemicals is very much better able to do things like that, even my knees and feet.

Also learned why my right shoulder blade muscle hurts when I meditate, and I tend to fall back. I think it’s the same reason I never could sit “properly” in dressage. My center of gravity is farther forward than it is supposed to be if I were normal, and the cushion is too low. But I can’t get my cushion higher because it pushes my feet out in front of me and then I can’t balance. And I think their chairs are too high to get my feet on the floor flat, which I assume means my legs are also abnormal — so that is my challenge for the weekend. Either I must learn to be normal or devise my own sort of cushion. It would be higher and U shaped, with the inside of the U for my feet and the arms (lower than the seat) for my knees. Then I could give back David’s cushion.

So then I got invited to lunch and had a really nice conversation about not being satisfied with the answers given by various religions.

“The real Dharma says: ‘If you can say – it’s like that,’ then you’re stuck. You’re hiding behind concepts, trying to get security, and you want it to be like that. That is one of the major habitual patterns. We WANT it to be like that – or like this – but not uncertain. But actually the more you contemplate and reflect on the Dharma, the more you are stepping into paradox. . . You have to find out for yourself. What is he relevance of these teachings? How can your life right now, with the job you have, and your history and experiences in the dog park (no she didn’t say that last bit), how can that become the path of awakening? How can that become a transformative experience? The very life you have, the very body and mind that you have right now.” Pema Chodron, Getting Unstuck

What else is there to do?

Excellent lunch. I really like their pre-lunch mantra, that I will get for us whenever I remember, and then they have silence for a time until a clapper sounds and everyone can talk.

Smoke from the fires in Silver City area continues to invade and is not pleasant but does not give me scary medical symptoms like the chemicals do, and is really quite beautiful. I remember the first day of the Bastrop fire I came over the hill (not knowing there was a fire) and saw the patterns in the sky. Slammed on the breaks and stopped to photograph. And I remember once in Montana. Awestruck.

Bitsy spends a lot of time on leash. She is attached to the trailer and can go in and out if she requests the privilege, but her rope does not reach all the way to the sleeping bag in the back of the trailer (because that is farther away than the neighbors’ territories, so when she comes in, she no longer tries to jump up there.

This morning it’s chilly. She climbed back in the door, came up to me, and cocked her head off to the side, looking at me out of the corner of her eye. Obviously wanted something, but what? Duuuhhhhh. She was exposing the snap that attaches the leash so I would take the thing off and she could curl up in the sleeping bag. I took it off, she scooted back there curled up, and pushed her nose into the warm bag.

I was attacked by a cactus yesterday, but got the picture. Not sure it was worth it; I can get better pix. I didn’t bring my heavy yellow cowboy slicker – would be perfect for dog park photography.

Leave a Reply

