Texas Snakes

I cannot tell you how beautiful this snake was, but it was not a bull-nose snake. Much prettier. I would have a picture, except I was also trying to get some hay in for the whole year, which is perhaps the most critical task for the horses, depending on whether or not it rains again.

It had all the usual snakish blotches on its back, but when I rolled back he pole, it flattened its head to the ground and spread out wings on the side of its head/neck so that it looked like a cobra (flat cobra, not raised up). The wings each had a large, vivid black spot with some white around it, and shot with red-orange around the edges.

According to books, we have only four types of poisonous snakes in Texas (but of course who knows how many pet venomous snakes have been released). Anyway, this was not one of them. While I was talking to the hay-guy the snake snuck off. and I didn’t get a picture. But it had built a nice little nest, almost like a mouse nest. Or maybe it just co-opted a real mouse nest.

Very beautiful; headed for the pond. Let me know if you do, what it is. Before I became a biologist (process oriented) I used to be a naturalist, which would be more oriented toward learning the little bits than to understanding how the whole beautiful structure stays alive. It turns out there are several billion species of nature on earth and, after all, none of them stands alone outside the beauty of the process; not even us; so I gave up trying to learn them all. Still — I never saw anything like it and it would be fun to know.

Leave a Reply

