Bare Bones Biology 037-New Year

Listen to this episode.

And happy New Year to you too. This year I want to spend some time talking about people who have made a difference. Probably I’ll have some negatives, but mostly positives. And also some comments about news events as they occur. But especially today I want to think about the idea of heroes. The other day I saw an ad claiming that: “everyone can be a hero.” What a load of bullhockey. You know they have something to sell. Everybody can not be a hero; everybody doesn’t even want to be a hero. It’s true that many of the real heroes get little or no recognition, and that’s discouraging for people who work and work, and really contribute enormously of their time and effort, and either they’re out of sync with the times, or they are not understood, or for any number of reasons they simply don’t get recognized. But that doesn’t diminish the contribution.

One example I want to talk about later is Dr. Martha Crouch. She was very good at what she did; she recognized the potential problem associated with the technologies being developed by Monsanto, and she tried to warn people and sacrificed her career in the process, because she didn’t want to contribute to the damage that we now know is being done. At that time, hardly anyone was listening. That doesn’t diminish what she did. She’s one of my heroes.

Another example is Jennie Lawrence, who wrote and read the poem you are about to hear. I don’t have time to tell you the whole story of her experience that I admire so much, but I’m using her poem as my dedication to the new year.

Who speaks for the dream?
Written and read by Jennie Lawrence

Who speaks for the yellow-woods, the wild flowers?
Not I said I, numbed into silence by my fear of the human race.

Who speaks for the elephants, the tortoise and the butterfly?
Not I, said I, stunned into apathy by my fear of the human race.

Who speaks for the dolphins, the pansy-shell, the coral reef?
Blinded to the truth by my fear of the human race.

Curled up alone, under the darkness of the African sky,
I take refuge in the stars,
And I dream a dream.

Dawn breaks.
I hear the clarion call of the whales in the bay.
Greetings, say I from the shoreline.
Mountain lands bright with sunshine,
Blue-green glistening sea,
Shadowed only by the spector of looming danger.
Creeping closer, creeping closer.

Though changes come so fast,
Each day is an unwritten script.

I am now less afraid of human beings,
And draw closer to the eye of the storm.
As the paralysis melts,
And the heart beats,
And the eyes see,
And the ears hear.

I speak for the yellow-woods, for the rain forest.
I speak with our people; we create community.
Our human hurts, and wounded earth will heal,
And this shall be again our garden.

    Recorded at “Healing the Earth” Conference

Bare Bones Biology Broadcast 037
KEOS 89.1, Bryan, TX
http://FactFictionFancy.Wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

