Bare Bones Biology 030-CorpoSystem

Well folks, now that I have told you all about problem solving and what you should be doing, I thought I’d share with you my recent experience along that line. Or one of them. This story is about insurance.

In October I discovered that my insurance coverage had not been renewed in January. It could have been a lot worse, it was a big shock, but nothing dreadful resulted, and it was obvious even to me that the problem was an unintentional miscommunication. So while I was standing there, sorting out my brain, trying to adjust to the situation. I am not a fast thinker folks. It takes me a long time to say or write something clever. But I was trying. When the corpo-person told me it was all my fault. “My fault?” You must be kidding. I’m not the one who failed to renew the insurance! I didn’t say that. But I thought it. And then I was just trying to think of something non-confrontational to say, so we could get back to thinking about the insurance. But what I did say was that it was not my fault, because I didn’t know it had not been renewed. (That was mistake number one.) So for a minute or two or three we discussed whether or not it is my fault, until finallyshe said: “It fell through the cracks.”

“Aha, I thought, here we go. That’s a good problem-solving move on her part.” But I only thought it. What I said was: “OK we can agree about that, then — (She cut me off. I swear folks, the rest of the sentence that I did not get to say would have been “what shall we do to fix it.”)

But she never heard that, because out of her mouth poured a Niagara of words, with no periods, no commas, no pauses. Honestly, I have never seen anything like it. The gist of it was that the problem was all my fault. Well, yes, if I had checked up on them to see if they did their job, it would not have happened; equally, if they had done their job it would not have happened. So? How does that argument solve anything? But trying to stop that flow was like standing on that little platform at the bottom of Niagara Falls, reaching out with my hands to stop the water going by.

What I did, after about 8 or ten seconds, I started to answer (that’s the Isecond mistake). In time with her chant, I chanted: “Listen to me; Listen to me; Listen to me; Listen to me.” It was rather poetic, really, in a noxious sort of way, but it of course she just yelled louder, so I began beating the rhythm on her desk top. At that point, she threatened to call the cops. Great, I thought. They can make her stop. So I changed my chant to: “call them, call them, call them.” And somehow that caused her to pause long enough for me to insert a few words, but unfortunately by that time I had forgotten what I had started out to say. What I did say (third mistake): “It’s all about trust,” and flounced out.

So it’s obviously her fault because we would have settled it immediately if she hadn’t stopped me from trying. On the other hand, it’s obviously my fault because her – fit — really had nothing to do with me so there was no reason for me to react to it. I should have videotaped it, and finished my sentence whenever she ran down. (That was my fourth mistake.)

But I didn’t. So my question to you my audience is — what should I do now? I don’t think assigning the blame will bring back my insurance or give the corposystem back its very good customer. I also think she doesn’t know this. And the corposystem doesn’t care. The corposystem doesn’t like anything that disturbs the flow.

So my conclusion is that even a dead fish can go with the flow, and it’s a whole lot easier than trying to buck the corposystem.

Bare Bones Biology, on
KEOS radio, 89.1, Bryan, TX, and
FactFictionFancy.Wordpress.com

http://www.amazon.com/Swim-against-Current-Even-Dead/dp/0470121513

Leave a Reply

