Grasshopper Gardens 100810

A family of toads lives under the big water trough, I don’t remember if I told you. The puddle near the trough has dried up, but I was able to make a little movie before it did that I will use some day for a podcast. Meantime, the surviving young have grown to nearly half size. It’s fun, when the tub has dried out and I tip it on its side to hose out the detritus and possible baby mosquitoes, to watch all the toads either huddle in their little caves or jump under the new location of the tub. But some of them won’t budge, so Bitsy and I tease them out of the way before we tip the trough back into position to fill it up for the horses. We (well I) don’t want to think of some poor little toad caught under there with no way to escape.

Leave a Reply

